An Exercise in Boredom


Oh ho, what have we here? Yet another blog without a topic. Just a blank piece of bandwidth for someone to spill their words onto. At least, that’s what you’re thinking. And you would be absolutely right.

My name is Rose. I’m nineteen, unattractive, antisocial, smart, and nerdy. I play video games. I watch Doctor Who. I argue with people for the sheer enjoyment of a point-counterpoint debate. I understand XKCD. I Know My Memes. I’m a level 80 Blood Elf Priest. Should you continue to read my blathering, I’m sure you’ll learn more about me.

I didn’t start this blog with the intention of becoming internet-famous. I’m not expecting hundreds of comments or thousands of readers. I’m not even expecting one reader, to be honest. I started this blog because I’m bored. I don’t mean “Three hours until the party starts and nothing to do” bored. I mean chronic boredom. I have no job, a list of friends I could write on the back of my hand, and no ambition. This combination leaves me with nothing to do all the time. Do you know how depressing that is? But that leaves me with a lot of time to think, and I think about some pretty weird stuff sometimes. I keep lists of the odd topics that float through my head just so I can look back at them later and wonder why I thought of them in the first place. So, as an outlet, I decided to list them all on the glorious interwebz under the name “A Touch of Sarcasm”, since being sarcastic to the point of bitterness is the backbone of my humor.

What you can expect from AToS:

  • Semi-personal journal-type posts, written as if my reader is a close friend.
  • Many posts about the things I hate, ranging anywhere from Westboro Baptist Church to the old lady in front of me paying for her groceries in pennies.
  • Actual articles. I like to entertain people and I like to write. I also like Cracked.com‘s listing style, so you can expect quite a few “Top # ______ that _____ _____” posts.
  • Written art. Poetry, short stories, etc., written by me or by (appropriately credited) others.
  • The ability to filter the above four types of posts. If you don’t want to know me personally, you don’t have to. If you don’t like to hear people bitch, you don’t have to read that either. If you only want to know what’s going on in my life, you can skip the art, articles, and rants.
  • An abundance of (often creative) profanity.
  • Correct spelling, punctuation, and grammar. It may not be perfect, and a Nazi could probably scour my pages to find mistakes, but it’s easily readable and won’t give you a migraine after three sentences.

What you CANNOT expect from AToS:

  • Unique, mind-blowing concepts or enlightenment.
  • Optimism
  • Petty, retarded little teenage girl problems (and I don’t mean the problems of retarded little girls, that’s completely different). Who broke up with who on Facebook would hardly matter to me even if I know the person, so why the hell should I expect it to matter to you?
  • tlkin liek dis cuz lyk OMG its soooo kewl. My head hurts already.
  • Shameless self-promotion. There might be a “share” button somewhere on this page at some point in the future, but that’s the extent of it. You’ll never see any “PLS PLS PLS TELL UR FRENDS ABOUT ME”. Ever.

And with that out of the way, welcome to A Touch of Sarcasm. Feel free to browse and read as much as you like.

@)—-

    • Blindman McSqueezy
    • April 14th, 2010

    how did you manage to write this tomorrow!! it’s still only 4/13/10 here! give me your time machine or i will release the monkey! also nice article, you seem like an intelligent person who happens to be bored.

    • Praise Raptor Jesus, my first comment!

      Well, I DID mention that I watch Doctor Who…and you can’t have my time machine! It’s monkeyproof anyway, I do not feel threatened! But really, it’s probably some boring timezone crap. And thank you for the compliment! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

